Awards & Recognitions: January 2022

Honors received by HMS faculty, staff, and students

Kamila Naxerova, HMS assistant professor of radiology at Mass General, was named a 2022 Emerging Leader by the Mark Foundation for Cancer Research. The award supports innovative, high-risk, high-reward projects with significant potential to improve outcomes for cancer patients.

Naxerova investigates how clonal evolution in the normal colon impacts the risk of early-onset colorectal cancer development.

Paulo Bispo, HMS assistant professor of ophthalmology at Mass Eye and Ear, was awarded the Mallinckrodt Uveitis Research Fellowship by the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. The fellowship supports an early-career investigator for one-year to study an aspect of uveitis or other inflammatory conditions of the eye.

Bispo studies the molecular epidemiology of antibiotic-resistant infections to develop novel approaches for prevention and treatment of difficult-to-treat ocular infections. He is also working to develop the next-generation of diagnostics for sight-threatening ocular infections.

Michael Carroll, HMS professor of pediatrics (pathology) at Boston Children’s, and Arlene Sharpe, the George Fabyan Professor of Comparative Pathology and the head of the Department of Immunology at HMS, have been elected to the Class of 2022 Distinguished Fellows of the American Association of Immunologists (AAI). The program recognizes AAI members for distinguished careers and outstanding scientific contributions as well as their service to the organization and the immunology community.

James Diao, a third-year medical student in the Harvard-MIT Program in Health Sciences and Technology, has received a Churchill Scholarship from the Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States. The scholarship provides for one year of master’s study at Churchill College in the University of Cambridge.

Diao will pursue a master’s degree in public policy at Cambridge and will return to HMS to complete his medical education.

HMS student Victor Lopez-Carmen (known as Waokiya Mani in the Dakota language) was named one of Sixteen Innovators to Watch in 2022 by Smithsonian Magazine. During the pandemic, he founded Translations for our Nations, a program that translates accurate COVID-19 information into more than 40 Indigenous languages. He also developed a pathway program at Brigham and Women's to increase representation of American Indians and Alaska Natives in the health care workforce.

William Ge, an MD candidate in the Harvard-MIT Program in Health Sciences and Technology, was named a class of 2023 Schwarzman Scholar. The graduate fellowship located at Schwarzman College on the campus of Tsinghua University in Beijing supports 151 scholars from 33 countries pursuing a one-year master’s degree in global affairs with a core curriculum focused on leadership and China.

Tell Us About Your Awards