HMS News Feed https://hms.harvard.edu/ Stay informed via email on the latest news, research, and media from Harvard Medical School. en Severe COVID Linked with Evidence of Brain Aging, Study Finds https://hms.harvard.edu/news/severe-covid-linked-evidence-brain-aging-study-finds Scientists emphasize the value of neurological follow-up in recovered individuals By JACQUELINE MITCHELL | Beth Israel Deaconess Severe COVID Linked with Evidence of Brain Aging, Study Finds Improved Hospital ‘Handoffs’ Cut Adverse Events by Almost Half https://hms.harvard.edu/news/improved-hospital-handoffs-cut-adverse-events-almost-half I-PASS encourages structured written, spoken communication By NANCY FLIESLER | Boston Children’s Improved Hospital ‘Handoffs’ Cut Adverse Events by Almost Half Why Upper Respiratory Infections Are More Common in Colder Temperatures https://hms.harvard.edu/news/why-upper-respiratory-infections-are-more-common-colder-temperatures Scientists uncover a biological explanation By RYAN JASLOW | Mass Eye and Ear Communications Why Upper Respiratory Infections Are More Common in Colder Temperatures New Genetic Mutation Behind Childhood Glaucoma Identified https://hms.harvard.edu/news/new-genetic-mutation-behind-childhood-glaucoma-identified Discovery may improve disease screening, personalize treatments By RYAN JASLOW | Mass Eye and Ear Communications New Genetic Mutation Behind Childhood Glaucoma Identified Getting to Know Allison Eck https://hms.harvard.edu/news/getting-know-allison-eck MyHMS chats with OCER executive communications manager about speechwriting, the symphony, and middle school diaries JEFFRY STANTON Getting to Know Allison Eck Why Large Corporations Are Entering Primary Care https://hms.harvard.edu/news/why-large-corporations-are-entering-primary-care Some employers now purchasing, delivering health care in the workplace By KATIE CAVENDER | HMS Center for Primary Care Why Large Corporations Are Entering Primary Care Ancient DNA Provides New Insights into Ashkenazi Jewish History https://hms.harvard.edu/news/ancient-dna-provides-new-insights-ashkenazi-jewish-history Analysis reveals medieval genetic diversity, illuminates founder event By THE HEBREW UNIVERSITY OF JERUSALEM COMMUNICATIONS Ancient DNA Provides New Insights into Ashkenazi Jewish History Researchers Decipher Structure of Crucial Immune Molecule, Paving Way for Drug Design https://hms.harvard.edu/news/researchers-decipher-structure-crucial-immune-molecule-paving-way-drug-design Inflammasome is implicated in autoimmunity, heart disease, neurodegeneration, and more By STEPHANIE DUTCHEN Researchers Decipher Structure of Crucial Immune Molecule, Paving Way for Drug Design Federal Funding Has Not Improved Access to Health Care https://hms.harvard.edu/news/federal-funding-has-not-improved-access-health-care Supply of primary care physicians remained same or worsened from 2010 to 2019, despite billions in federal funding by JACQUELINE MITCHELL | Beth Israel Deaconess Federal Funding Has Not Improved Access to Health Care Organ Donations, Transplants Increase on Days of Largest Motorcycle Rallies https://hms.harvard.edu/news/organ-donations-transplants-increase-days-largest-motorcycle-rallies Findings should serve as alarm to increase safety, prepare for higher demand for trauma care and transplant services By JAKE MILLER Organ Donations, Transplants Increase on Days of Largest Motorcycle Rallies