Awards & Recognition: June 2018

HMS students Michael Dystra and Samantha Truong were among 23 U.S.-based medical students who have received 2018 International Clinical Research Fellowships from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation (DDCF).

The International Clinical Research Fellowship program provides fellowships for students to take a year out from school to conduct mentored clinical research in developing countries. The program is administered through six U.S. medical schools with programs in global health research.

Steven Rodriguez
Steven Rodriguez

Steven Rodriguez, HMS instructor in neurology at Massachusetts General Hospital, has been named the recipient of the 2018 Harvard Catalyst/Program for Faculty Development and Diversity Inclusion Faculty Fellowship Program.

This two-year, nondegree faculty fellowship program for Harvard junior faculty is designed to address the need for additional support to conduct clinical and/or translational research and to provide release time to junior faculty from clinical and teaching demands at a key point in their career development. The fellowship provides $100,000 over a two-year period to support scholarly efforts.

Three HMS faculty members have received the inaugural HMS Scholars in Medicine Excellence in Student Mentoring Award

This new award was established to recognize the value of quality mentoring relationships and the impact they have on student research and professional development. All medical students are required to carry out a scholarly project with the guidance of a faculty mentor. Graduating HMS students are invited to nominate their mentors and describe how the faculty member’s mentoring has affected their progress as a successful medical student.

The inaugural HMS Scholars in Medicine Excellence in Student Mentoring Award recipients are listed below:

Gail Adler, HMS associate professor of medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital

Jennifer Kasper, assistant professor of global health and social medicine at HMS and HMS assistant professor of pediatrics at Massachusetts General Hospital

Louise Ivers, associate professor of global health and social medicine at HMS and HMS associate professor of medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital

Helen Riess, HMS associate professor of psychiatry and director of the Empathy and Relational Science Program at Massachusetts General Hospital, received the Richard Frankel Award for Creating a Loving Community during the Arnold P. Gold Foundation's Mapping the Landscape Symposium in May 2018.

Reiss has developed a neuroscience-based empathy training system to improve patient care and patient experiences. Throughout her career, she has taught trainees and faculty to use empathy as a tool in medical relationships. She also researches emotional intelligence, the neuroscience of emotions, the cultural aspects of empathy, and how organizational communication and leadership can enhance compassion and improve patient safety.

Andrea Wershof Schwartz, HMS instructor in medicine at VA Boston Healthcare System, received the Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award from the American Geriatrics Society. She was among more than 20 researchers, clinicians, educators and emerging health professionals who were recognized for making outstanding contributions to high-quality, person-centered care for older people.

Milissa Kaufman Milissa Kaufman
Milissa Kaufman

HMS instructor in Psychiatry at McLean Hospital, received the International Society for the Study of Trauma and Dissociation’s Cornelia B. Wilbur Award, which is given to an individual for outstanding clinical contributions to the treatment of dissociative disorders.

Kaufman is the medical director at the Hill Center for Women and director of the Dissociative Disorders and Trauma Research Program, which focuses on women with experiences of childhood trauma. Her group aims to identify and understand the brain mechanisms, cognitions, and genes contributing to PTSD and DID and how they relate to both dysfunction and resilience in these disorders. Using cutting-edge statistical, behavioral, and imaging techniques, Kaufman’s group explores these areas to determine how to identify those at risk for certain trauma related symptoms, how to better identify those who will respond optimally to a particular treatment, and how to tailor individual treatments for the best recovery outcomes.

Elaine Martin
Elaine Martin

Elaine Martin, director and head librarian of the Countway Library of Medicine, was selected as a fellow of the Medical Library Association (MLA) for her contributions to the health information profession and was honored at the organization’s annual meeting in May.

Additionally, she delivered the Janet Doe Lectureship at the MLA meeting; her talk was titled “Social Justice and the Medical Librarian.”

John Sharp, HMS lecturer on psychiatry, part-time, at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, received the Cynthia N. Kettyle Teaching Award for medical student education in psychiatry. It is presented to faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding and enduring commitment to teaching, mentorship and leadership in psychiatric education.

The following Five HMS researchers were honored by the Massachusetts Medical Society:

Lynn Black, HMS instructor in medicine at Mass General, received the 2018 Henry Ingersoll Bowditch Award for Excellence in Public Health.

Curtis Cetrulo, HMS assistant professor of surgery at Mass General, and Dicken Ko, HMS associate professor of surgery at Mass General, along with Thomas Manning, their patient, received the 2018 Society’s Men’s Health Award

Yvonne Gomez-Carrion, HMS assistant professor of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive biology at Beth Israel Deaconess, received the 2018 Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health Award

Stephanie Rutledge, HMS clinical fellow in medicine at Mass General, received the 2018 Information Technology Award