7 Faculty Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Scientists recognized for distinguished research achievements

A gloved hand holding small vial and a second gloved hand holding a syringe

Image: Gretchen Ertl

Seven Harvard Medical School faculty members are among 120 individuals elected this month to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Get more HMS news here

The newly elected members from HMS are:

  • Spyros Artavanis-Tsakonas, professor of cell biology, emeritus, and part-time lecturer on cell biology in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS
  • Gordon Fishell, professor of neurobiology in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS
  • Wade Harper, the Bert and Natalie Vallee Professor of Molecular Pathology in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS
  • Bradford Lowell, professor of medicine at HMS and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
  • Danesh Moazed, professor of cell biology in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS
  • Pamela Silver, the Elliott T. and Onie H. Adams Professor of Biochemistry and Systems Biology in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS
  • Ulrich von Andrian, the Edward Mallinckrodt Jr. Professor of Immunopathology in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by U.S. President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership and, with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine, provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Adapted from National Academy of Sciences communications materials.