Community Service Awards Honor Volunteers

The Office for Diversity and Community Partnership honored recipients of the 2010 Community Service Awards at a breakfast on Sept. 29. Initiated in 1999 by then dean Joseph Martin, the awards recognize HMS faculty, trainees, students and staff for extraordinary contributions to community service and encourage volunteering.

“In today’s uncertain and often trying times, community service is more important than ever,” said Joan Reede, HMS dean for Diversity and Community Partnership. “Service provides a vehicle for our students, trainees, fellows, faculty and staff to become aware of the needs of others, and to provide their talents and skills through giving.”

Each of this year’s 10 award winners demonstrates a level of commitment that has benefited the lives of people locally, nationally or globally.

At the Community Service Awards breakfast are (clockwise from far left) Jacques Carter, Brian Block, Kenneth Reich, Bruce Donoff (HSDM dean), Jaine Darwin, Jeffrey Flier (HMS dean), Sabrina Carrie, (accepting the award on behalf of Thierry Pauyo), Vincenzo Bollettino, (accepting the award on behalf of Michael VanRooyen), Sara Selig, Mary Cassesso, Kate Grzesiuk and Jarshin Lin. Photo by Jeff Thiebauth

J. Jacques Carter, HMS assistant professor of Medicine at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and Michael VanRooyen, HMS associate professor of Medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, each won the Lifetime Achievement Award. Carter was honored for work with the Community Prostate Cancer Screening and Educational Program, VanRooyen for his work with the Harvard Humanitarian Initiative.

Jaine Darwin and Kenneth Reich, both clinical instructors in Psychology in the Department of Psychiatry at Cambridge Health Alliance, received faculty awards for their involvement with the Strategic Outreach to Families of All Reservists. Jarshin Lin, HSDM instructor in Restorative Dentistry and Biomaterials Science, received a faculty award for his service to Project Bridge.

Peter Rohloff and Sara Selig, both HMS clinical fellows in Medicine at BWH, received trainee awards, Rohloff for his work with Wuqu’ Kawaq, a nonprofit that delivers medical care in Guatemala, and Selig for her work with the Ocular Melanoma Foundation.

Brian Block and Thierry Pauyo, both from the Class of 2010, received student awards. Block was honored for his contributions to the HMS Student AIDS Action Initiative and Pauyo for her engagement in the Haitian Medical Students Association.

Mary Cassesso, HSDM dean for Administration and Finance, and Kate Grzesiuk, HMS assistant director of Gift Planning, received staff awards, Cassesso for service to Cambridge Health Alliance and Grzesiuk for involvement with Horizons for Homeless Children.