Awards & Recognitions: May 2022

Honors received by HMS faculty, staff, and students

Jocelyn Silvester, HMS assistant professor of pediatrics at Boston Children’s Hospital, has received the inaugural Celiac Disease Foundation (CDF) Young Investigator Prize. The prize recognizes the exceptional achievements of an investigator in the early part of their career in celiac disease research.

Silvester was recognized for her advocacy, translational research, and clinical research in both adults and pediatrics. Her research has provided insight into the natural history of celiac disease as well as providing a template for how to study the gluten-free diet. She has also developed a short, easy-to-administer way for the celiac disease community to assess adherence to the gluten-free diet.

Sabrina Paganoni, HMS associate professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation at Massachusetts General Hospital, has been named to receive the Diamond Award from the Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA).

The award recognizes a scientific leader dedicated to the eradication of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease. The award will be presented at the MDA’s gala in New York City on June 9.

Ivana Kim, HMS associate professor of ophthalmology at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, was selected to present the Paul Henkind Memorial Lecture at the Macula Society 2022 annual meeting in June. This annual lecture recognizes a Macula Society member for their exceptional contributions to retina research.

Kim’s research focuses on the medical and surgical treatment of patients with vitreoretinal diseases and the development of new therapies for AMD and ocular melanoma. Kim has initiated and participates in clinical trials involving new therapeutic approaches for uveal melanoma and evaluates circulating DNA as a biomarker for uveal melanoma progression.

Three Harvard Medical School scientists are among the 150 individuals recently elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The newly elected members from HMS are:

Gordon Freeman, HMS professor of medicine at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Kornelia Polyak, HMS professor of medicine at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Leonard Zon, the Grousbeck Professor of Pediatrics at Boston Children’s Hospital and professor of stem cell and regenerative biology at Harvard

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and, with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine, provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Tell Us About Your Awards