Awards & Recognitions: April 2021

Honors received by HMS faculty, staff and students

Sherri Rose, visiting professor of health care policy in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS, has been awarded the 2021 Gertrude M. Cox Award for her work applying statistics to improve health care. The award from the Washington Statistical Society and RTI International recognizes a mid-career statistician who has made significant contributions to applied statistics.

Rose develops statistical machine learning approaches to improve human health, through risk adjustment, comparative effectiveness research, and health program evaluations. She is co-director of the Health Policy Data Science Lab, a group of interdisciplinary researchers at Harvard and Stanford universities who focus on developing and applying quantitative methods to solve problems in health policy.

Seven Harvard Medical School students have received 2021 Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans. They are among 30 graduate students to receive the merit-based award for immigrants and children of immigrants and were selected for their potential to make significant contributions to the United States.

The 2021 Soros Fellows from HMS are:

An MD student in the HST program, Alaleh Azhir has focused her research on the role of X and Y chromosomes on disease manifestations. Through medical training, she aims to build computational tools specifically for preventive care for women.

Pooja Chandrashekar is an MD student in the Pathways program at HMS. Her work focuses on improving health care delivery for underserved populations. She aspires to pursue a career as a physician and leader dedicated to building a more equitable health care system.

An HST student, Brian Chang has completed a PhD in medical engineering and medical physics at MIT, and is now pursuing his MD degree. Chang hopes to advance health care through medical device innovation and education as a future physician-scientist, entrepreneur, and educator.

James Diao is an MD student in the HST program. Following his medical and scientific training, he hopes to give voice to patient perspectives in the development and evaluation of health care technology.

Charlie ChangWon Lee is a first-year MD student in the HST program. He is investigating policies to incentivize vaccine and biosimilar drug development. Lee hopes to find avenues to bridge science and policy and translate medical innovations into accessible, affordable therapies for patients.

An MD student in the HST program, Archana Podury is interested in combining computational and social approaches to neuropsychiatric disease. She hopes focusing on both neural and social networks can lend a more comprehensive, and compassionate, approach to health and disease.

Enrique Toloza is an MD/PhD student in the HST program, working on his PhD in physics at MIT. He is passionate about expanding health care access to immigrant populations.

Marsha Moses, the Julia Dyckman Andrus Professor of Surgery at HMS and Boston Children’s, was named by the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) to receive the AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Lectureship. The award is presented to an outstanding scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the field of cancer research and who has, through leadership or by example, furthered the advancement of women in science.

Moses, director of the Vascular Biology Program at Boston Children’s, is being honored for her unwavering dedication to serving as an inspiration to countless women working in the field of cancer research, as well as for her pioneering contributions to our understanding of solid tumor growth and progression. Moses is also being recognized for developing novel targeted nontoxic nanomedicines and noninvasive diagnostics tools for human cancers.

Frederick Alt, the Charles A. Janeway Professor of Pediatrics and Professor of Genetics at HMS and director of the Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine at Boston Children’s, received the 2021 American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research.The award is presented to individuals who have made fundamental contributions to cancer research through a single discovery or a body of work. 

Alt is being recognizes as a pioneer in the fields of genetics and immunology whose landmark discoveries have had a defining impact on the study of cancer biology. He was cited “for the discovery of gene amplification in mammalian cancer cells, discoveries that contributed to establishing oncogene amplification as a tumor progression mechanism, elucidating non-homologous end-joining, and revolutionizing the understanding of how genomic rearrangements form and how they contribute to cancer.” In addition to his groundbreaking work on cancer, Alt’s pioneering research in immunology helped define the processes that generate the immense diversity of antibodies that can be produced to ward off infection.

Fatima Cody Stanford, HMS assistant professor of medicine and of pediatrics at Mass General, was named to receive the 2021 Grant V. Rodkey, MD, Award for Outstanding Contributions to Medical Education, presented by the Massachusetts Medical Society Board of Trustees and the Massachusetts Medical Society Medical Student Section. This award, is presented annually to a physician who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the education and welfare of medical students and who has made significant contributions to medical students, both in the hospital and in organized medicine.

Tell Us About Your Awards