4 Elected 2022 AAAS Fellows

HMS faculty recognized for distinguished scientific achievements

Four Harvard Medical School researchers have been elected by their peers as 2022 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for their contributions to medical sciences.

They are among the more than 500 scientists, engineers, and innovators around the world and across scientific disciplines who are being recognized for their scientific and socially notable achievements during the past year.

Get more HMS news here

“AAAS is proud to elevate these standout individuals and recognize the many ways in which they’ve advanced scientific excellence, tackled complex societal challenges, and pushed boundaries that will reap benefits for years to come,” said Sudip Parikh, chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals.

The 2022 AAAS fellows from HMS are:

Stephen Buratowski, HMS professor of biological chemistry and molecular pharmacology in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS, for his research into the mechanisms of eukaryotic gene expression.

Mark Feinberg, HMS associate professor of medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, for his explorations of the role of noncoding RNAs as new mediators and therapeutic targets in disease progression.

William Carlezon, HMS professor of psychiatry at McLean Hospital, for translational neuroscientific advances in the understanding of stress-related illnesses and autism, for introducing in vivo viral gene transduction to collaborative neuroscience research, and for editorial leadership in his field.

Timothy Padera, HMS associate professor of radiation oncology at Massachusetts General Hospital, for contributions to intravital lymphatic system imaging, uncovering mechanisms of lymphatic dysfunction in disease states, and discovering mechanisms of cancer progression and immune suppression.

The new Fellows will be celebrated in Washington, D.C., in summer 2023. They will also be featured in the AAAS News and Notes section of Science in February 2023.

Adapted from AAAS press materials.