Awards and Recognitions: December 2013


Nathanael Gray, professor of biological chemistry and molecular pharmacology, was named the recipient of this year's Meyenburg Cancer Research Award.  

Established in 1981, the Meyenburg Award, bestowed annually by the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ) in Heidelberg, Germany, honors "outstanding achievements in cancer research."  

Gray joins a select group of distinguished scientists, including several Nobel laureates, who have received this award.  The prize is worth 50,000 euros. 


Ole Isacson, Ali Khademhosseini and Timothy Alan Springer, of Harvard Medical School have all  been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. This year 388 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. 

New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 15 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

  • Isacson was elected as an AAAS Fellow for distinguished contributions to neuroscience and neurology, particularly for helping to elucidate the neurobiology of Parkinson's disease and for innovations in applications of stem cells. 
  • Khademhosseini was elected as an AAAS Fellow for outstanding contributions at the interface of engineering, materials sciences, and biology, and in particular for the application of micro- and nanoengineered materials for regenerative medicine.
  • Springer was elected as an AAAS Fellow for establishing the paradigm that the immune and vascular systems use adhesion molecules, and for discovering the first examples and how they regulate immune responses and diapedesis.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science. 

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science ( as well as Science Translational Medicine ( and Science Signaling (

AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million.

The non-profit AAAS ( is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more.

For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert!,, the premier science-news Web site, a service of AAAS.