Data Backup and Restore

HMS Information Technology

More... Share to Twitter Share to Facebook
CrashPlan PROe Data Backup and Restore

Backup FAQs

How do I change what files are backed up?

How do I change the frequency of backups?

Can I reduce the backup set size?

Can I backup my Outlook .pst files?

Can I remove specific files from backup?

Can I exclude certain types of files, such as text files?

How many previous version of my files are backed up?

Are deleted items backed up?

Restore FAQs

How do I restore files?

Can I recover items from the Trash or Recycle Bin?

Are emails that I delete recoverable?

 

Backup FAQs

How do I change what files are backed up?

  1. Open CrashPlan.
  2. On the Backup tab, click Change... in the Files section.
  3. Navigate to view the files and folders in the backup set.
  4. All items that display with a check (√) to the left will be backed up.
  5. Select additional files and folders as needed.
  6. When done, click Save.

How do I change the frequency of backups?

The Backup Frequency setting determines how often CrashPlan backs up a new version of your files.

  1. Open CrashPlan.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click Backup.
  4. Next to Frequency and versions: click the Configure… button.
  5. Drag the sliders to a adjust the backup frequency.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Click Save.

Can I reduce the backup set size?

You can reduce the size of your backup by enabling compression. , click on the Backup tab, then click “enable” next to Backup sets. A backup sets tab will appear, at the bottom of back up sets you will find Advanced settings: Configure. Click configure and the Advanced Backup settings appears allowing you to turn compression on or off.

The Backup Frequency setting determines how often CrashPlan backs up a new version of your files.

  1. Open CrashPlan.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click the Backup tab.
  4. Next to Backup sets: click the Enable button.
  5. On the Backup Sets tab, next to Advanced settings: click the Configure... button.
  6. Next to the Compression: drop down menu, select On, Off or Automatic *.
  7. Click OK.

* If "On" is selected, ALL files are compressed. If "Automatic" is selected, only those files that require compression are compressed.

Can I backup my Outlook .pst files?

CrashPlan PRO does not have application-specific hooks to safely back up files that are always being written to (like SQL databases, virtual machines, Exchange databases, PST files, etc.) It is recommended that you save your .PST files to your network home drive.

Can I remove specific files from backup?

Yes you can!

  1. Open CrashPlan.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click Backup.
  4. Click Backup Sets.
  5. In the Files section, click Change...
  6. Navigate to the folder or file to remove from the backup set.
  7. Click in the box to the left of the item name to remove the checkmark.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Save.

Can I exclude certain types of files, such as text files?

Yes. You can prevent CrashPlan form backing up certain types of files by indicating specific file types.

  1. Open CrashPlan.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click Backup.
  4. Next to Filename exclusions: click the Configure... button.
  5. Enter a file type, such as "txt" for a text file.
  6. Click the plus "+" sign.
  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for additional file types.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Save.

Consideration: Keep in mind that excluding previously selected files results in excluded files being deleted from the backup archive. The now-excluded files will not be available for restoration.

How many previous version of my files are backed up?
As many as you create! CrashPlan's backup process runs continually. You can control how often and long to keep versions by following the instructions below:

  1. Open CrashPlan.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click Backup.
  4. Next to Filename exclusions: click the Configure... button.
  5. Drag the sliders to adjust the versioning controls.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Click Save.

Are deleted items backed up?

Deleted items are backed up as long as they were part of the back up before being deleted and that the setting for deleted files is within the set time frame. Users should set this to “Never”. To restore deleted items, please use the instructions provided on the CrashPlan web site.
 

Restore FAQs

How do I restore files?

You can restore files using the CrashPlan client or the CrashPlan Web Console.

  • By default, the most recent versions of the selected files are restored.
  • Files will be restored to the default download location.
  • Files with the same name as any files being restored are renamed to include the prefix “original1”, to avoid overwriting content.

When your files or folders have been restored, the status bar will indicate that the restore is complete.

Restore files using the CrashPlan application

Restore files using the CrashPlan web console

FAQs from Support.CrashPlan.com

Tips for Restoring Files between Platforms

  • Because the computer you are restoring to has a different filesystem structure that the original source computer, restore the files to a specific location, rather than to the original location.
  • Some file metadata may be lost during a cross-platform restore. To preserve all file metadata, restore to a computer of the same platform.
  • Filenames containing characters that are illegal on the platform you restore to will not be able to be restored. Restore those files to a computer of the same platform.

Can I recover items from the Trash or Recycle Bin?

Yes, items that are put in the Trash are recoverable as long as they were part of your back up, you will be able to retrieve them.

Are emails that I delete recoverable?

Emails are not part of the backup ability of CrashPlan. It is advised that you contact the IT Service Desk by calling 617-432-2000 or filling out an online support request form, with regard to recovering deleted emails.