The Charles J. Hatem Award for Faculty Development in Medical Education

More... Share to Twitter Share to Facebook
The Charles J. Hatem Award for Faculty Development in Medical Education

The Academy at Harvard Medical School presents the annual Charles J. Hatem Award for Faculty Development in Medical Education to a member of the HMS faculty who has made a significant and sustained contribution to training other faculty to teach and/or to conduct research in medical education. The award is given in honor of Dr. Charles J. Hatem, the Harold Amos Academy Professor of Medicine, Chair of the Department of Medical Education at Mt. Auburn Hospital, and former director of the Academy Center for Teaching & Learning. Dr. Hatem’s extraordinary style of teaching and extensive contributions to faculty development have inspired innumerable faculty to improve their teaching and have raised the standard and value of teaching at HMS.


Hope A. Ricciotti, M.D.- 2015 Charles J. Hatem Award Recipient 
Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology
Head of the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center  

Dr. Hope Ricciotti is the Chair and Residency Program Director in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and an Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Biology at Harvard Medical School.  She rose internally in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology to her current role as Department Chair, with prior roles as Division Director, Vice Chair for Education, and Vice Chair.  She practices obstetrics and gynecology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, MA. At Harvard Medical School, Dr. Ricciotti is Co-Chair of the Resident as Teacher Interest Group for the Academy, and a member of the Curriculum Committee and Faculty Council. Her academic interests include resident-as-teacher and leadership training programs, culture in academic medicine, and simulation for training medical students and residents. Her clinical interests are focused on reducing health care disparities in women’s health, and include obstetrics, advanced contraception, and preventive women’s health care.  She has published several important manuscripts in the medical literature, including the innovative use of open space for enhancing the culture of academic medicine (Academic Medicine, 2014), the disparity in representation of women in department-based leadership roles in obstetrics and gynecology (Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 2015), and the objective structured teaching evaluation (OSTE) for training residents as teachers (Medical Teacher, 2012). 

Alan M. Leichtner, M.D.- 2014Charles J.Hatem Award Recipient
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Boston Children’s Hospital

Dr. Leichtner, a graduate of Harvard Medical School, is a major contributor to the education mission at Boston Children’s Hospital. He is the founder and director of the Children’s Hospital Academy; he serves as the Director of Medical Education in the Office of Faculty Development; and he is Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs in the Department of Medicine at BCH. Dr. Leichtner’s teaching contributions include the second-year gastrointestinal pathophysiology course and the pediatric core clerkship at BCH, and he is the director of the 4th year elective on pediatric gastroenterology at Children’s Hospital. As a member of the Academy at HMS, he contributes to faculty development innovations through the Inter-hospital Collaborative. Dr. Leichtner has received the Murray Davidson Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Distinguished Service Award from NASPGHAN(North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology Hepatology and Nutrition).


Graham T. McMahon, MBBCh, MD, MMSc- 2013 Charles J.HatemAward Recipient
Associate Professor of Medicine
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Dr. McMahon’s contributions to medical education are extensive and include teaching at every level of the education continuum, creating innovative curricula, and conducting research in medical education. As the first recipient of the Charles Hatem Award for Faculty Development in Medical Education, Dr. McMahon has fulfilled every criterion for achievement in this field. According to Dr. Jonathan Borus, Dr. McMahon is a “role model and mentor for faculty interested in developing their skills in medical education and educational research.” At HMS, he serves as director of the Endocrine/Reproductive section of the second-year Human Systems pathophysiology course and as associate director of the first-year Introduction to the Profession course for entering medical and dental students. In both roles, in addition to his commitment to pedagogical innovation, he pays special attention to insuring that his course tutors are well equipped to lead small-group tutorials. Also, as a member of the Academy at Harvard Medical School, he significantly contributed to faculty development innovations through several interest groups and the Inter-hospital Collaborative; he developed and taught in the first Academy course on medical education research methods; and repeatedly taught research methods through fellowship programs and subsequent Academy courses and workshops. At BWH, he co-leads the Medical Education Research Works-in-Progress series, designed and now co-leads a weekly faculty development series at BWH, heads the selection committee for the ‘Support for Excellence in Educational Development’ grants for Innovation and Research in Medical Education, and “co-wrote the proposal for the Brigham Education Academy, focused on providing a sense of community, faculty development programs, support, mentorship and resources for the hospital’s educators, which received high priority in the BWH’s Strategic Plan for the coming decade.” According to multiple nominators, Dr. McMahon’s dedication, innovation, and generosity have helped large numbers of faculty members to improve their teaching and medical education research, and to develop careers in medical education at HMS, BWH, nationally and internationally. 



Our Mission

To create and nurture a diverse community of the best people committed to leadership in alleviating human suffering caused by disease.