Curriculum Committee Subcommittee on Assessment of Students

This standing subcommittee of the Curriculum Committee is charged with overseeing all aspects of evaluation of student performance across the four years of the HMS curriculum, including the following areas, and reporting annually to the HMS Curriculum Committee.

- performance in tutorials, on course exams and in courses overall; in core clerkships; in clinical and non-clinical electives;
- performance on OSCE exams, including the Patient-Doctor II OSCE and the 4th-year Comprehensive Exam;
- definition of grading criteria;
- programs for faculty that develop and enhance evaluation skills, including oral and written feedback (formative feedback) and summative evaluations, development of valid evaluation tools (e.g., exams), in collaboration with the Center for Teaching and Learning;
- longitudinal, developmental evaluation and monitoring of students over the four+ years of the curriculum;
- evaluation of the tools we use to evaluate students, e.g., exams in Years I and II.

AY1314 Membership

Co-Chairs

Lisa Breen, MD: (Surgery, BWH) Clerkship Director, PCE Assistant Director Andrew Lichtman, MD, PhD: (Pathology, BWH) Year I Course Director

Voting Members

Ronald Arky, MD: (Medicine, BWH) Master, Peabody Society Alexander Carbo, MD (Medicine, BIDMC) Year I, II teaching faculty, Med II Codir

Vincent Chiang, MD: (Pediatrics, CHMC) Clerkship Director, Sub-internship Director

Barbara Cockrill, MD: (Medicine, BWH) Year II Course Director Frank Drislane, MD: (Neurology, BIDMC) Clerkship Director Edward Krupat, PhD: Director, HMS Center for Evaluation Tracey Milligan, MD: (Neurology, BWH) former clerkship director Stephen Pelletier, PhD: Senior Project Manager, HMS Center for Evaluation Leigh Simmons, MD: (Medicine, MGH) Year II, III teaching faculty Dana Stearns, MD (Surgery, MGH) Year I, II teaching faculty, clinical preceptor

Ex Officio Members

Jules Dienstag, Dean for Medical Education Terese Galuszka, Registrar Jane Neill, Associate Dean for Academic Programs

Staff

Elisabeth Peet, Assessment and Evaluation Manager, HMS Center for Evaluation Aga Jackson, Assessment Coordinator, HMS Center for Evaluation