



REQUEST FOR NOMINATIONS - Deadline: February 28, 2013

2013 Joseph B. Martin Dean's Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women Faculty

February 1, 2013

Dear Colleague,

The Dean's Award for Leadership in the Advancement of Women Faculty was initiated in 1998 by Joseph B. Martin, M.D., Ph.D., former Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, to recognize faculty members committed to the recruitment, retention and advancement of women at Harvard Medical School and Harvard School of Dental Medicine. In 2007, the Award was renamed the "Joseph B. Martin Dean's Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women" to honor Dr. Martin for his long-standing support of the mission it recognizes.

The nomination process for the Award is coordinated by the Joint Committee on the Status of Women at HMS and HSDM. Candidates may be of either gender and may be nominated by any HMS/HSDM faculty member. The Award recipient, selected by the JCSW Dean's Award Selection Subcommittee and Jeffrey S. Flier, M.D., Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, receives a cash award and will be recognized at the May Faculty of Medicine meeting.

Past Recipients

2012 Dennis Brown, Ph.D., Professor of Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital

2011 David Bor, M.D., Charles S. Davidson Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Chief of Medicine at Cambridge Health Alliance

2010 Joan Miller, M.D., Henry Willard Williams Professor of Ophthalmology, Chief, Department of Ophthalmology, Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary

2009 Marsha Moses, Ph.D., Julia Dyckman Andrus Professor of Surgery, Director, Vascular Biology Program, Children's Hospital Boston

2008 Andrew Warshaw M.D., W. Gerald Austen Professor of Surgery, Surgeon-in-Chief and Chairman, Department of Surgery, Massachusetts General Hospital

2008 Michael Zinner M.D., Moseley Professor of Surgery, Surgeon-in-Chief and Chairman, Department of Surgery, Brigham and Women's Hospital

2007 Susan Block, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry and Medicine, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham and Women's Hospital

2006 Laurie Glimcher, M.D., Professor of Medicine and the Irene Heinz Given Professor of Immunology in the Faculty of Public Health, Brigham and Women's Hospital

2005 Jane Weeks, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

2004 Nancy Andrews, M.D., Ph.D., former George Richards Minot Professor of Pediatrics and Dean of Basic Sciences & Graduate Studies, Children's Hospital Boston

2003 Leonard Kaban, M.D., D.M.D., Walter C. Guralnick Professor of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Massachusetts General Hospital

2002 Isaac Schiff, M.D., Joe Vincent Meigs Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Head of the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, Massachusetts General Hospital

2001 JoAnn Manson, M.D., Dr.P.H., Michael and Lee Bell Professor of Women's Health, Brigham and Women's Hospital

2000 Ramzi Cotran, M.D., former Frank Burr Mallory Professor of Pathology, Brigham and Women's Hospital

1999 Anne Young, M.D., Ph.D., Julieanne Dorn Professor of Neurology, Massachusetts General Hospital

1998 Anne Klibanski, M.D., Laurie Carrol Guthart Professor of Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital

1998 Suzanne Fletcher, M.D., Professor of Ambulatory Care and Prevention, Emeritus, Harvard Medical School **1998 Thomas Delbanco, M.D.**, Richard A. and Florence Koplow-James L. Tullis Professor of General Medicine and

Primary Care. Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Please help us identify faculty members who are deserving of this prestigious recognition. Each nominee should be sufficiently established in his or her career such that he or she has made a truly notable contribution to the advancement of women faculty. Ideally this faculty member will have set an example not only as a mentor, but also as a model and an activist whose efforts have extended more broadly within our institution or nationally. Nominees eligible for this award include faculty members who serve in any capacity within HMS or HSDM. Exceptions to this eligibility include those faculty members whose positions specifically include guidance related to or promotion of faculty careers, such as those working in faculty development or women's career offices. Candidates who have previously been nominated may be renominated; previous nominations can be re-submitted with updated information.

The application form can be accessed at; 2013 Dean's Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women Faculty (or by copying and pasting http://ecommons.med.harvard.edu/pub_forms.asp?sid=HMS_8662 into your web browser).

For more information, please visit the JCSW website at: http://hms.harvard.edu/departments/joint-committee-status-women/subcommittees/joseph-b-martin-deans-award

The deadline for nominations is February 28, 2013 at 5pm.

To nominate a candidate:

Please provide specific details and examples documenting accomplishments of the nominee in each of the following areas:

- Outreach efforts to <u>recruit</u>, <u>retain</u>, and <u>promote</u> women faculty and trainees (e.g. appointments in executive positions)
- Effective retention strategies
- Enhancing the ability of women faculty and trainees to attain their full career potential
- Support for programs to assist with career/family balance
- Development of an environment conducive to career development

Additional supporting letters, up to 4 maximum, from others about the nominee or materials related to his/her support for women faculty, can be emailed to ICSW AdminAssist@hms.harvard.edu. Please put the nominee's name in the subject line.

Thank you for your interest and efforts in nominating an outstanding candidate. Your participation in selecting a deserving recipient of this important award is greatly appreciated.

If you have any questions about your nomination or this award, please contact me at FFENNESSY@PARTNERS.ORG or email the JCSW Administrative Assistant at the email address above. Please feel free to forward this email and the above information, to your colleagues and departments.

Sincerely,

Fiona Fennessy, M.D., Ph.D.

Subcommittee Chair, Joseph B. Martin Dean's Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women Faculty Joint Committee on the Status of Women