More... Share to Twitter Share to Facebook

An HMS education is a learning adventure guided by a faculty of more than 11,000 of the world's leading scientists, medical researchers and academicians, and practicing physicians.

These are the teachers you will learn from, the mentors you will depend on, the researchers you will collaborate with, and the friends who will help expand your intellectual and professional boundaries.

In classrooms, discussion halls, and laboratories; at HMS-affiliated hospitals; and within Society offices—through a powerful combination of tutorials, group discussions, classroom lectures, and clinical experiences—Harvard Medical School allows you easy access to the vast knowledge and experience of faculty who are pioneers in research, patient care, and education across every field of medicine.

A Selection of HMS Faculty Achievements

  • Jonathan Beckwith, Ph.D., American Cancer Society Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, received the 2009 Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology from the National Academy of Sciences for excellence in that field as well as the 21st Annual Edinburgh Medal for "his contributions to the understanding and well being of humanity."
  • Carol Nadelson, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry, received the The Alma Dea Morani, M.D. Renaissance Woman Award from the Foundation for the History of Women in Medicine for her pioneering work in women's health and mental health as well as her dedication to education and her inspirational leadership in psychiatry and medicine.
  • Jack Szostak, Ph.D., received the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, along with Elizabeth Blackburn and Carol Greider, for the discovery of how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase. Research by Szostak, a professor of genetics and member of the Department of Genetics at HMS and the Department of Molecular Biology at Massachusetts General Hospital, showcases the fundamental importance of basic science and how it can open up new fields of investigation.
  • Paul Farmer, M.D., Ph.D., has been appointed to serve as the deputy to Former President Clinton in his role as UN Special Envoy to Haiti.
  • Rakesh Jain, Ph.D., was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Jain is the first from the HMS faculty—and only the ninth person in history—to be elected to the NAS as well as the Institute of Medicine and the National Academy of Engineering.
  • Marc Kirschner, Ph.D., has been bestowed Harvard's highest professorial distinction, University Professor, by Harvard University President Drew Gilpin Faust. Dr. Kirschner is a pioneer in studying the evolutionary origins of the vertebrate body plan, in particular the chordate nervous system. His laboratory studies the frog embryo as a model system of cell development, watching how it orchestrates numerous signals to create a final, complex organism. Understanding cell morphogenesis is vital to understanding normal cell development and cell regeneration; it also sheds light on cancer.
  • Mark W. Albers, M.D., Ph.D., Instructor in Neurology, received the Director's Innovator Award for research into genetic causes of neurodegenerative diseases.
  • Alfred Goldberg, Ph.D.; Daniel Harber, M.D., Ph.D.;Isaac Kohane, M.D., Ph.D.; Joan Reede, M.D.; Gary Ruvkun, Ph.D.; Clifford Saper, M.D., Ph.D.; Megan Sykes, M.D.; Bruce Walker M.D.; and Ralph Weissleder, M.D., Ph.D. were elected to the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine.

Download Full List of Honors and Awards



Our Mission

To create and nurture a diverse community

of the best people committed to leadership in alleviating human suffering caused by disease