Tutor Development and Training

More... Share to Twitter Share to Facebook
Tutor Development and Training

Workshops for both new and experienced tutors focus on a number of teaching elements including small group facilitation; giving effective feedback; underlying processes and theories behind teaching and learning. Members of the CTL provide support for faculty participation in many elements of teaching at the HMS.

Upcoming Introduction to Tutorial Facilitation

Course Specific Sessions

COURSE SPECIFIC: Introduction to Tutorial Facilitation

These sessions are specific to a given course. They are by invitation only.

Faculty: Samuel Kennedy, PhD

Overview: This session will explore:

  • Aspects of tutorial learning and facilitation
  • Expectations of the tutorial process
  • Strategies to promote the highest likelihood of success
  • Best practices for required feedback and evaluation
  • Communication style and the fostering of collaboration through communication

Upcoming Course Specific Sessions:


Tutor Recognition

To qualify for recognition, a tutor must achieve the following:

  • Minimum of 6 student evaluations – (A minimum of 5 responses for PD1)
  • Score of 1.25 or better on student evaluations
  • Teach a minimum of 6 teaching sessions in a specified course

Awards are issued at two different levels:

  • Certificate of Excellence in Tutoring: If the above criteria are realized within a one year period, the tutor will be recognized with a Certificate in Excellence in Tutoring
  • Award for Excellence in Tutoring- Three Year Award: If the above performance criteria are consistently realized over a three year period, the individual will receive an Award for Excellence in Tutoring.

Tutor Award Recipients

Certificate of Excellence in Tutoring Recipients

  • AY 2010 (2009-2010)
  • AY 2011 (2010-2011)
  • AY 2012 (2011-2012)
  • AY 2013 (2012-2013)
  • AY 2014 (2013-2014) listed by course

Excellence in Tutoring Award Recipients- 3 Year Award

  • AY 2014 (2013-2014)

Resources for Tutors

Small Group Learning Proposal

HMS Curriculum Blueprint



Our Mission

To create and nurture a diverse community of the best people committed to leadership in alleviating human suffering caused by disease